Sunday, June 25, 2017

Jerusalem, Capital of Israel - 2

A selection of shots from the Old City of Jerusalem. The existing walls were built during the 1500's by the Ottoman Turks.  Jerusalem was reunited by Israel (never again to be divided) after the 1967 war. The Old City is divided into four districts: the Armenian, Christian, arab, and Jewish quarters.

A food stall in the arab quarter:

Young girl in the Jewish quarter:

The Jaffa Gate, which is at the nexus of the arab, Christian, and Jewish quarters:

The Oren Kodesh holding the Torah scrolls of the Hurva Synagogue in the Jewish quarter:

No comments:

Post a Comment